The Course finder will help you filter through our entire range of courses. You can browse by level, discipline or institution.


About the Course
Course Curriculum
International Application
Local Application

Course Description

EC-Council Certified Security Specialist (ECSS) is an entry level security programme covering the fundamental concepts of information security, computer forensics, and network security. It enables students to identify information security threats which reflect on the security posture of the organisation and implement general security controls.
This programme will give a holistic overview of the key components of information security, computer forensics, and network security. This programme provides a solid fundamental knowledge required for a career in information security.


24 contact hours


Who Is It For

ECSS is designed for anyone who want to enhance their skills and make a career in information security, network
security, and computer forensics fields.


Exam Details

Exam Title: EC-Council Certified Security Specialist

Exam Code: ECSS 

Number of Questions: 50

Duration: 2 hours

Exam Availability Location: EC-Council Exam Portal

Test Format: Multiple Choice

Passing Score: 70%


What will you Learn?

Students going through ECSS training will learn:

  1. Key issues plaguing the information security, network security, and computer forensics
  2. Fundamentals of networks and various components of the OSI and TCP/IP model
  3. Various types of information security threats and attacks, and their countermeasures
  4. Identification, authentication, and authorization concepts
  5. Different types of cryptography ciphers, Public Key Infrastructure (PKI), cryptography attacks, and cryptanalysis tools
  6. Fundamentals of IDS and IDS evasion techniques
  7. Data backup techniques and VPN security
  8. Fundamentals of firewall, techniques for bypassing firewall, and firewall technologies such as Bastion Host, DMZ, Proxy Servers, Network Address Translation, Virtual Private
  9. Network, and Honeypot
  10. Social engineering techniques, identify theft, and social engineering countermeasures
  11. Different stages of hacking cycle
  12. Various network security protocols
  13. Wireless Encryption, wireless threats, wireless hacking tools, and Wi-Fi security
  14. Different types of web server and web application attacks, and countermeasures
  15. Fundamentals of ethical hacking and pen testing
  16. Incident handling and response process
  17. Cyber-crime and computer forensics investigation methodology
  18. Different types of digital evidence and digital evidence examination process
  19. Different type of file systems and their comparison (based on limit and features)
  20. Steganography and its techniques
  21. Different types of log capturing, time synchronization, and log capturing tools
  22. E-mails tracking and e-mail crimes investigation
  23. Writing investigation report


Why is ECSS Important?

  • It facilitates your entry into the world of Information Security
  • It provides professional understanding about the concepts of Information Security, Network Security, and Computer Forensics
  • It provides best practices to improve organizational security posture
  • It enhances your skills as a Security Specialist and increases your employability



Management Development Institute of Singapore (MDIS)

The Management Development Institute of Singapore (MDIS), founded in 1956, is Singapore's oldest not-for-profit professional institute for lifelong learning. MDIS has two subsidiaries: Management Development Institute of Singapore Pte Ltd (MDIS Pte Ltd) to oversee its Singapore academic operations, and MDIS International Pte Ltd to further its globalisation strategy.


Course Outline

  1. Information Security Fundamentals
  2. Networking Fundamentals
  3. Secure Network Protocols
  4. Information Security Threats and Attacks
  5. Social Engineering
  6. Hacking Cycle
  7. Identification, Authentication, and Authorization
  8. Cryptography
  9. Firewalls
  10. Intrusion Detection System
  11. Data Backup
  12. Virtual Private Network
  13. Wireless Network Security
  14. Web Security
  15. Ethical Hacking and Pen Testing
  16. Incident Response
  17. Computer Forensics Fundamentals
  18. Digital Evidence
  19. Understanding File Systems
  20. Windows Forensics
  21. Network Forensics and Investigating Network Traffic
  22. Steganography
  23. Analyzing Logs
  24. E-mail Crime and Computer Forensics
  25. Writing Investigative Report


Full-time programme: 24 contact hours



Total Course Fee: TBC


Admission Requirement

Candidate must be at least 18 years old to take the examination


Full-time programme: 24 contact hours



Total Course Fee: TBC


Admission Requirement

Candidate must be at least 18 years old to take the examination

Duration of Course | 24 hours


Class Intakes for 2017

Full-time Programme


Local students:

+65 6247 9111 / 6372 1000

International students:

+65 6796 7660


Local Enquiries
+65 6247 9111
+65 6278 8000
International Enquiries